Upredicatability in MOGs touted by Camelot Unchained devs

3

March 3, 2013 by hordemaster

Camelot Unchained logo

I have been following closely the player feedback on Mark Jacob’s new project Camelot Unchained on the interwebs, and apparently so has PC Gamer. I was a bit disappointed because I thought this article would provide a bit more info. on what the developer feels would make an mog more unpredictable as a sandbox game versus a strict and linear themepark like World of Warcraft.

Evidently, he restricts himself to the combat system here, which makes sense I guess, given the fact that this will be a game focused on pvp with little or no emphasis on pve. Player reaction is mixed, some want mog games to evolve more compelling story lines, while others want less of a focus on instances and more role playing capabilities.

Personally, crit failures in combat don’t sound all that innovative, as I have encountered similar mechanics in other games I have played. I think that a lot of players miss some of the elements in previous sandbox games like Star Wars Galaxies and others of its ilk, such as player housing, the ability to change or make a lasting impact in the game world, and freedom from the more “cookie-cutter” elements of the themeparks. Personally, Jacobs had me at RvR since I love DAoC’s pvp mechanics so much, but I can see how others would want more from their games, especially if they have to plump down cash for a p2p mog as C.U. is rumored to be. Oy! if only I had the cash to upgrade this rig in preparation…but I digress…

This article had me wondering about my own personal tastes and fond memories of playing mogs. After all, having fun is the optimal goal is it not? I don’t enjoy grinding levels in a game like wow, but when the mobs are fun then it takes some of the drudgery out of it.

“What it boils down to is this, do we want to have a game where randomness and chaos within the game’s systems play a small or nonexistent role or do we want some more excitement both from our game but more importantly, for our experience in that game?” That is a good question Mr. Jacobs. I think the randomness of which you speak of can be fun depending on how it is presented. Nothing wrong with a little controlled chaos I say. He goes on to write: Who knows, maybe it might even be fun to be turned into a cute little bunny rabbit as long as I get to bite the head off of an Arthurian while the sound of a can opener plays in the background.

Hate to break it to you, but Blizzard beat you to it, I remember leveling and questing my troll warrior and having him being turned into a sheep, growing to thrice his size, or other fun stuff happening upon interacting with a witch doctor NPC. No, randomness isn’t unique in mogs, but it’s nice to know you want to make a game that is fun to play and not just dark and gloomy and a total gankfest…. Just not sure that people looking forward to this game want that element of game play in their pvp-centric mog.

I will continue to keep an eye out for this game. Now, back to gearing up my twinks in preparation of Warsong Gulch action. Peace!

3 thoughts on “Upredicatability in MOGs touted by Camelot Unchained devs

  1. Mat says:

    Your last statement about blizzard is wrong.

    Blizzard was not random. It was scripted.

  2. theerivs says:

    Fun is relative though, and I think Mark is actually going for a niche group.

Leave a Reply

