The big mog for 2013?

Leave a comment

January 24, 2013 by hordemaster

Guild Wars 2 artworkI have been playing a few games of late (wow, Fallen Earth) and concurrently wondering, what, if any, will be the big mmorpg for 2013.

We know that there are a number of anticipated games from the big game companies scheduled, including Wildstar and the Elder Scrolls, but it doesn’t seem as though there is one game with enough clout to take over the market or revolutionize the genre. Guild Wars 2 was supposed to do this prior to its release, but some players have been disappointed by it, just as a lot of players were not impressed by Blizzard’s release of Cataclysm for World of Warcraft a little over 2 years ago (Anticipation was high for that one, at least within the game’s community) and Bioware’s handling of SWTOR.

Personally, I am looking forward to the release of Neverwinter, as I think  having two games based on the D&D license can never be a bad thing. I have taken a break from playing DDO, but not because I think it’s a bad game, but due to the fact I may be getting tired of the Stormreach setting, I welcome Neverwinter as a new approach to D&D as a mog. Green Armadillo in a post today on his blog Player vs. Developer writes that he doesn’t see  “a single MMO emerging as the big winner in 2013, the way that Guild Wars 2 arguably won the half of 2012 after its release.” I tend to have to concur with this assessment.

You can read the rest of his interesting predictions for the mog landscape in 2013 if you choose. I do know that a. I will continue to play wow, because it is a very good polished game

b. I am looking forward to Neverwinter as I said.

C. Will probably go back to DAoC as the game with the pvp which engages me the most. What new games on the horizon are the rest of you looking forward to most and why??

Leave a Reply

